The association structures and governance mechanisms of Interpharma were adapted to the requirements and needs of a growing membership. With the Board and the Executive Committee, Interpharma has two decision-making bodies with clearly defined tasks and competencies. The basis for decision-making is drawn up in the first instance by the nine permanent working groups of Interpharma, to which experts from the member companies contribute their expertise. 



  • Jean-Paul Clozel, Actelion
  • Joe Jimenez, Novartis
  • Severin Schwan, Roche



The Board is the formal decision-making body that decides on the strategy and priorities, as well as the budget of the association. The Board discusses international and pharma political issues, inward investment issues of relevance to the member companies with headquarters in Switzerland or with international functions in Switzerland, as well as questions and standards concerning research and production. Issues and questions that mainly concern the local pharmaceutical market of Switzerland fall within the competence of the Executive Committee.

Board meetings are convened by the Chair three times a year. The Board also has two Vice-Chairs. The Chair of the Executive Committee also sits on the Board. Care is taken to ensure there is balanced representation on the Board for companies with headquarters in Switzerland and international companies with a Swiss subsidiary. The member companies decide on the composition of the Board.

  • Pamela Alexa, Pfizer
  • Michael Cobas Meyer, Eli Lilly
  • Thomas B. Cueni, Interpharma
  • Johanna Fiedl-Naderer, Biogen
  • Barbara Heise, Bayer, Vice-Chair
  • Peter Herrmann, Actelion
  • Peter Hug, Roche, Chair
  • Thomas Lang, Merck Sharp & Dohme (MSD)
  • Matthias Leuenberger, Novartis
  • Michelle Lock, Bristol-Myers Squibb
  • Ludo Ooms, Janssen-Cilag
  • Tuomo Pätsi, Celgene
  • Marc Princen, Takeda
  • Doris Seltenhofer, Merck
  • Urban Skog, AstraZeneca
  • Nathalie Stieger, Roche
  • Gianni Zampieri, Vifor



The Executive Committee also has decision-making authority and addresses questions concerning the local pharmaceutical market of Switzerland based on the priorities and guidance of the Board. All member companies are represented on the Executive Committee – usually by the General Manager (GM) of the Swiss subsidiary. The Executive Committee is chaired by the manager of a member company, who is elected by the members. The Executive Committee meets four times a year, although additional meetings may be convened as necessary.

  • Katrin Moser-Schirr, Bristol-Myers Squibb
  • Biljana Naumovic, AstraZeneca
  • Florence Penicaud, UCB
  • Julie Puype-Dehaene, Takeda
  • Natascha Schill, Biogen
  • Doris Seltenhofer, Merck
  • Urban Skog, AstraZeneca, Chair
  • Josef Troxler, Vifor
  • Frank Weber, Janssen-Cilag
  • Olaf Weppner, AbbVie
  • David Werner, Boehringer Ingelheim
  • Oliver Bleck, Roche
  • Daniel Breitenstein, GlaxoSmithKline
  • Etienne Bucher, Actelion
  • Guido Businger, Sanofi
  • Michael Cobas Meyer, Eli Lilly
  • Thomas B. Cueni, Interpharma
  • André T. Dahinden, Amgen
  • Stefanie Granado, Shire
  • Barbara Heise, Bayer
  • Martin Höhener, Pfizer
  • Monika Jänicke, Novartis
  • Thomas Lang, Merck Sharp & Dohme (MSD)
  • Franz J. Lechner, Celgene
  • Urs Lehmann, Lundbeck
  • André Lüscher, Gilead